Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Agatha Award Winners

The Wrong Girl

May is a busy month for mystery awards!  We shared the Edgar Award winners yesterday, and today we bring to you the Agatha Awards.

The Agathas are named after the well-loved author Agatha Christie.  The awards are sponsored by Malice Domestic, Ltd.'s annual convention that celebrates the "traditional mystery" such as Christie wrote.  Also called "cozy mysteries," these stories are defined as those with no explicit sex or excessive gore or violence, which makes them ideal for readers of all ages.

And the winners are:

Best Contemporary Novel-- The Wrong Girl by Hank Phillippi Ryan
Best Historical Novel--A Question of Honor by Charles Todd
Best First Novel--Death Al Dente by Leslie Budewitz
Best Short Story--"The Care and Feeding of House Plants" by Art Taylor, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine (available as a PDF from the Malice Domestic website, linked below)
Best Nonfiction--The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War by Daniel Stashower
Best Children's/ Young Adult Novel--Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library by Chris Grabenstein

Give us a call at 618-344-1112 to request these stories.

To view all of this year's nominees, check out the Malice Domestic website.

Posted by Kyla Waltermire, Adult Services Librarian